“JUST ME, JUST ME”


Shel Silverstein

Shel Silverstein (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

a poem by Shel Silverstein

Sweet Marie, she loves just me

(She also loves Maurice McGhee).
No she don’t, she loves just me
(She also loves Louise Dupree).
No she don’t, she loves just me
(She also loves the willow tree).
No she don’t, she loves just me!
(Poor, poor fool, why can’t you see
She can love others and still love thee.)

One thought on ““JUST ME, JUST ME”

  1. I loved his poems when I was a kid, and I’m pleased to find they’re still delightful! I don’t think I’d ever seen this one before though, or maybe it just didn’t stand out back then. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

